Welcome to the Circleville (OH) Branch of AAUW

2021-2022 Strategic Plan/Circleville Branch Programs

Mission:  To advance gender equality for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy.

Vision:  Equality for all.

Values:  Nonpartisan. Fact-based. Integrity. Inclusion and intersectionality.

The women of the Circleville branch are committed to improving the lives of women in our community, our state, and our country.  Current projects and studies will relate to  1) sexual harassment, 2) economic issues, 3) global connections, and 4) voting issues.

2021-2022 Programs and Special Interests AAUW-Circleville Branch

September 2021

Wednesday, September 8 — AAUW and League of Women Voters present a panel discussion of House Bills 322 and 327 on Zoom.  Registration to follow.

Tuesday, September 14 — Circleville Branch Book Club, The Daughters of Erietown by Connie Schultz, 10:30, Jane Poulson’s home

Saturday, September 18 — Coffee and Convos, The Nickel Boys, 10:00 on Zoom

**Wednesday, September 29 — Circleville Branch Meeting:  “Creating Social Learning Books for Children Using Rescue and Therapy Animals, Part 2″, Nel LaRock, 5:45,  Koch Room, Pickaway Library

October 2021

Tuesday, October 12 – Circleville Branch Book Club, First Principles by Thomas Rich, 10:30, Jane Poulson’s home

Saturday, October 16 — AAUW OH Fall Summit:  “Diversity of Membership and Empowerment,”  9:00-12:00 noon, on Zoom

**Tuesday, October 26 — Circleville Branch Meeting:  Lunch at Freedom a la Carte–Learning how the restaurant retrains victims of sexual harassment, 123 E. Spring Street, 11:30 a.m.

November 2021

Tuesday, November 9 — Circleville Branch Book Club, The Queen’s Gambit by Walter S. Tevis, 10:30, Jane Poulson’s home

**Tuesday, November 16 — Circleville Branch Meeting, Alicia Vasquez-Crede, Senior Program Officer for Asylum Services, Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service, Koch Room, Pickaway Library, 5:45 pm

Saturday, November 20 — Coffee and Convos, The Moment of Lift by Melinda Gates, 10:00 am on Zoom

December 2021

Tuesday, December 14 — Circleville Branch Book Club, Kindness and Wonder:  Why Mr. Rogers Matters Now by Gavin Edwards, 10:30 am, Jane Poulson’s House

January 2022

Tuesday, January 11— Circleville Branch Book Club, While Justice Sleeps, 10:30 AM, Jane Poulson’s home

February 2022

Tuesday, February 8 — Circleville Branch Book Club, The Ride of Her Life, 10:30 AM, Pickaway Library

March 2022

Tuesday, March 8 — Circleville Branch Book Club, Caste, 10:30 AM, Pickaway Library

**Tuesday, March 22 — Circleville Branch Meeting, Kathy Smith, Tree Specialist and Horticulturalist, The Ohio State University and Special Garden in London, Ohio, Collection for Haven House (battered women’s shelter), Koch Room, Pickaway Library 5:45 pm

April 2022

Friday, April 1 — Coffee and Convos, Impact Players, 7:00 pm, Zoom

Saturday, April 2 — AAUW OH Spring Convention, “Empowering Women Since 1881:  We’ve Come A Long Way AND We Still Have Work to Do,”  9:00-3:00 pm, All Saints Lutheran Church, Worthington, Voting for Officers

Tuesday, April 12 — Circleville Branch Book Club, Follow the River, 10:30 AM, Pickaway Library

**Tuesday, April 26 — Circleville Branch Meeting, Tracie Sorvillo, Environment and Safety Manager, Sofidel, presentation and tour, 11:00 am

May 2022

Tuesday, May 10 — Circleville Branch Book Club, The Great Influenza, 10:30 AM, Pickaway Library

**Tuesday, May 24 — Circleville Branch Banquet, Will Petrik, Budget Researcher, Policy Matters Ohio, will present “Policy Priorities and Budget for Child Care in Ohio”, Pickaway Golf Club, 6:00 pm